Protein and Drug Biochemistry

The Protein and Drug Biochemistry Unit’s expertise lies in the purification of bacterial, plant and animal proteins, target proteins and their chemical and enzymological characterization. Applied methods range from protein chromatography to spectroscopic analysis of protein structure and mechanisms of enzyme functions. The unit’s competence also encompasses the isolation and characterization of antibodies aiming at developing protein drugs as well as their semi-preparative extraction. The subsequent structure-activity-analysis as well as structure-based molecular optimization complement the unit’s portfolio.

Peptide aggregates and microparticles for therapeutic applications

Countless human diseases, many of which are incurable, can be traced back to the misfolding and depositing of peptides or proteins. Protein misfolding diseases include, for instance, Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s disease as well as other neurodegenerative diseases. In these cases, fibrillose structures are formed by the body’s own proteins that are extremely stable in the organism and cause cellular damage to the affected tissue. One therapeutic approach lies in the development of antibodies that mark the stable aggregates and pave the way for alternative degradation processes (phagocytosis). Characterizing the binding behavior to the aggregate is essential in developing these types of substances. This collaboration project between Fraunhofer IZI-MWT and Fraunhofer IMWS therefore seeks to investigate the structure of fibrillose proteins (e.g. amyloid-α, ADan) using microscopic techniques (TEM, AFM). In order to do this, the peptides and/or proteins will be synthesized, purified and caused to aggregate in vitro. The binding of monoclonal antibodies to these structures will be characterized by means of immunogold labeling. To this end, the project partners came together to draw up a protocol for processing and preparing (contrast filling) the respective proteins. Using HAADF-STEM and AFM, accumulations of proteins with ring and globular structures were able to be detected on β-synuclein filaments, for instance, during protein aggregation. Investigations focused on antibody-fibril interactions demonstrate the binding of gold cluster-labeled antibodies to Aβ filaments, enabling the antibodies’ binding positions to be differentiated on the filaments. Assisted by surface plasmon resonance (Biacore™) and isothermal titration calorimetry (ITC), these investigations are valuable in developing antibodies and therefore serve as an exemplary model for protein drug development. The project is being handled by the High Performance Center for Chemistry and Biosystems Engineering.

Therapeutic antibodies against active chemokines

Chemokines are signal proteins or peptides secreted by cells, which direct the movement of responding immune cells. The secretion of inflammatory cytokines is induced by inflammatory processes and pathogens. This causes the recruitment of leucocytes along a concentration gradient to the source of chemokine production. Dysregulation of chemokines plays a destructive role in many chronic inflammatory diseases like arthritis, multiple sclerosis and colitis. Due to the high presence of chemokines, originally providing the clearance of pathogens and damaged tissue, enhanced influx of immune cells causes attack of endogenous healthy structures in these diseases.

After cleavage of the signal peptide, some chemokines possess an N-terminal glutamine residue, which is subsequently converted to pyroglutamate under physiological conditions by glutaminyl cyclase activity. The resulting lactam ring is not protonated in the physiological pH range. This provides an elevated resistance against aminopeptidases and exoproteases, which need a protonated amino group for substrate binding.

Furthermore, enhanced receptor activation could be shown for the respective chemokines after N-terminal pyroglutamate formation. Chemokine cleavage by endoproteases, like matrix metalloproteinases, is not affected by an N-terminal pyroglutamate. However, it was described that truncation of chemokines by matrix metalloproteinases results in receptor antagonists, which are able to bind, but fail to activate the chemokine receptor.

Our approach is the development of protein drugs, which neutralize post-translationally modified chemokines. Besides the N-terminal modifications, also other structural elements might be important. In addition to antibodies, therapeutic proteins with antibody like properties will be developed in cooperation with industry partners.

Targeting post-translational protein modifications to treat neurodegenerative disorders

Neurodegenerative diseases are characterized by the progressive loss of brain substance. The degeneration of nerve cells coincides with the development of dementia, i.e. a qualitative and quantitative decline of brain cognitive performance. Due to the rise of life expectancy, dementia, especially Alzheimer Disease (AD), will pose a major challenge to our health systems in the decades to come. Prevalence rates in Germany identify 1.4 million diseased individuals, numbers worldwide approximate 44 million and are expteced to triple by the year 2050. Despite the fact that some medication is available to extenuate the symptomes of the diseases, no curative therapy is on hand right now.

The majority of neurogenerative diseases is ascribed to a misfolding of proteins. This structural modification results in an aggregation that damages the surrounding tissue and cells causing them to die off. An effective therapy needs to prevent the peptides from aggregation and to accelarate the decomposition of these proteins respectively.

Latest research findings show that various proteins are prone to structural changes (posttranslational modification), which often accelerates their deposition. Such modifications are, among others, N-terminal pyroglutamate and Isoaspartat formation, nitroyslation or phosphorylation.

This projects aims at identifying posttranslational modifications in deposited proteins that characterize the particular neurogenerative disease. The formation of the modification as well as strategies for its supression are under investigation. New substances may either prevent the modification of proteins (enzyme effectors) or target the modified proteins by binding to accelarate their degradation (protein drugs).

  • Molecular cloning procedures for expression vector generation
  • Heterologous expression of target proteins in E. coli, yeast, insect and mammalian cells
  • Protein purification in analytical and small preparative scale
  • Spectroscopic analysis of enzyme structure and function in vitro (UV-Vis, CD, and fluorescence chemoluminescence spectroscopy), development of enzyme assays
  • Structure- based optimization (protein engineering) of antibodies

  • Hartlage-Rübsamen M, Waniek A, Meissner J, Morawski M, Schilling S, Jäger C, Kleinschmidt M, Cynis H, Kehlen A, Arendt T, Demuth HU, Rossner S. Isoglutaminyl cyclase contributes to CCL2-driven neuroinflammation in Alzheimer’s disease. Acta Neuropathologica 2015; 129(4): 565-583. DOI dx.doi.org/10.1007/s00401-015-1395-2
  • Morawski M, Schilling S, Kreuzberger M, Waniek A, Jäger C, Koch B, Cynis H, Kehlen A, Arendt T, Hartlage-Rübsamen M, Demuth HU, Roßner S. Glutaminyl cyclase in human cortex: correlation with (pGlu)-amyloid-beta load and cognitive decline in Alzheimer‘s disease. Journal of Alzheimer‘s Disease. 2014;39(2):385-400. DOI dx.doi.org/10.3233/JAD-131535.
  • Güttler BH, Cynis H, Seifert F, Ludwig HH, Porzel A, Schilling S. A quantitative analysis of spontaneous isoaspartate formation from N-terminal asparaginyl and aspartyl residues. 2013 Apr;44(4):1205-14. DOI dx.doi.org/10.1007/s00726-012-1454-0. Epub 2013 Jan 24.
  • Nussbaum JM*, Schilling S*, Cynis H, Silva A, Swanson E, Wangsanut T, Tayler K, Wiltgen B, Hatami A, Rönicke R, Reymann K, Hutter-Paier B, Alexandru A, Jagla W, Graubner S, Glabe CG, Demuth HU, Bloom GS. Prion-like behaviour and tau-dependent cytotoxicity of pyroglutamylated amyloid-?. Nature. 2012 May 2;485(7400):651-5. DOI dx.doi.org/10.1038/nature11060
  • Schilling S, Kohlmann S, Bäuscher C, Sedlmeier R, Koch B, Eichentopf R, Becker A, Cynis H, Hoffmann T, Berg S, Freyse EJ, von Hörsten S, Rossner S, Graubner S, Demuth HU. Glutaminyl cyclase (QC) knock out mice show mild hypothyreodism but absence of hypogonadism: implications for enzyme function and drug development. J Biol Chem. 2011 Apr 22;286(16):14199-208. DOI dx.doi.org/10.1074/jbc.M111.229385
  • Seifert F, Schulz K, Koch B, Manhart S, Demuth HU, Schilling S. Glutaminyl cyclases display significant catalytic proficiency for glutamyl substrates. Biochemistry. 2009 Dec 22;48(50):11831-3. DOI dx.doi.org10.1021/bi9018835
  • Schilling S, Zeitschel U, Hoffmann T, Heiser U, Francke M, Kehlen A, Holzer M, Hutter-Paier B, Prokesch M, Windisch M, Jagla W, Schlenzig D, Lindner C, Rudolph T, Reuter G, Cynis H, Montag D, Demuth HU, Rossner S. Glutaminyl cyclase inhibition attenuates pyroglutamate Abeta and Alzheimer's disease-like pathology. Nat Med. 2008 Oct;14(10):1106-11. DOI dx.doi.org/10.1038/nm.1872

Protein- und Wirkstoffbiochemie

Die Arbeitsgruppe Protein- und Wirkstoffbiochemie verfügt über umfangreiche Er­fahrung in der Reinigung von Ziel­proteinen und deren enzymatischer Charakterisierung. Neben klassischen Verfahren zur Protein-Chromatographie kommen proteinchemische Methoden, z.B. spektroskopische Auf­klärung von Struktur und enzymkinetischer Wirkungs­weise, zum Einsatz. Eine besondere Kompetenz liegt in der Humanisierung von Antikörpern zur Herstellung von Proteinwirkstoffen bis hin zu deren semi-präparativen Gewinnung. Die anschließende Struktur-Wirkungsanalyse sowie die strukturbasierte, molekulare Optimierung ergänzen das Leistungsspektrum.

Peptidaggregate und Mikropartikel für therapeutische Anwendungen

Zahlreiche, häufig unheilbare Erkrankungen des Menschen sind auf eine Fehlfaltung und Ablagerung von Peptiden oder Proteinen zurückzuführen. Zu diesen Proteinfaltungserkrankungen zählen z. B. die Alzheimer- und Parkinson-Krankheit sowie andere neurodegenerative Erkrankungen. Dabei bilden sich aus körpereigenen Eiweißen fibrilläre Strukturen, die im Organismus sehr stabil sind und in den betroffenen Geweben zu einer Zellschädigung führen. Ein therapeutischer Ansatz ist die Entwicklung von Antikörpern, welche die stabilen Aggregate markieren und für alternative Abbauprozesse (Phagozytose) zugänglich machen. Die Charakterisierung des Bindungsverhaltens an die Aggregate ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der Entwicklung dieser Wirkstoffe. Ziel des gemeinsamen Projektes zwischen dem Fraunhofer IZI-MWT und dem Fraunhofer IMWS ist es daher, die Struktur fibrillärer Proteine (z. B. Amyloid-α, ADan) mittels mikroskopischer Techniken (TEM, AFM) zu untersuchen. Hierzu werden die Peptide bzw. Proteine synthetisiert, gereinigt und in vitro zur Aggregation gebracht. Die Bindung von monoklonalen Antikörpern an diese Strukturen wird mittels Immunogold-Markierung charakterisiert. Dafür wurde in enger Kooperation zwischen den Projektpartnern ein Protokoll für die Aufarbeitung sowie Präparation (Kontrastierung) der Proteine erarbeitet. Mittels HAADF-STEM und AFM konnte z. B. eine Anlagerung von ringförmigen und globulären Einheiten an β-Synucleinfilamente während der Proteinaggregation abgebildet werden. Untersuchungen von Antikörper-Fibrillen-Interaktionen zeigen die Bindung von AuCluster-markierten Antikörpern an Aβ-Filamente. So können Bindungspositionen der Antikörper an den Filamenten differenziert werden. Diese Untersuchungen, begleitet durch Oberflächen-Plasmonresonanz (Biacore™) und isothermale Titrationskalorimetrie (ITC), stellen einen wertvollen Beitrag für die Entwicklung von Antikörpern dar und haben daher Beispielcharakter für die Entwicklung von Proteinwirkstoffen. Das Projekt wird im Rahmen des Leistungszentrum »Chemieund Biosystemtechnik« bearbeitet.

Therapeutische Antikörper gegen aktive Chemokine

Chemokine sind von Zellen gebildete Signalproteine oder -peptide, die eine Wanderungsbewegung von Immunzellen auslösen. Die Sekretion inflammatorischer Chemokine wird vor allem durch entzündliche Prozesse und pathogene Substanzen induziert, woraufhin Leukozyten entlang eines Konzentrationsgradienten zur Quelle der Chemokinproduktion rekrutiert werden. In einer Vielzahl von chronischen inflammatorischen Erkrankungen wie Arthritis, Multiple Sklerose und Kolitis spielt die Fehlregulation von Chemokinen eine destruktive Rolle. Die hohe Präsenz der Chemokine, die eigentlich der Bekämpfung von Pathogenen und defektem Gewebe dienen, führt in diesem Fall aber zu einem vermehrten Einstrom von Immunzellen und schließlich zu deren Angriff auf noch gesunde körpereigene Strukturen.

Einige Chemokine weisen nach Abspaltung des Signalpeptids ein Glutamin als N-terminale Aminosäure auf, welches unter physiologischen Bedingungen durch die Aktivität der Glutaminylcyclasen QC und isoQC zu Pyroglutamat umgewandelt wird. Der dabei entstandene Lactamring ist im physiologischen pH-Bereich nicht protoniert, was dem jeweiligen Chemokin eine erhöhte Resistenz gegenüber Aminopeptidasen und Exoproteasen verleiht, die eine protonierte Aminogruppe für die Substratbindung benötigen.

Weiterhin konnte für die oben genannten Chemokine gezeigt werden, dass der aminoterminale Pyroglutamatrest eine effektivere Bindung an die jeweiligen Rezeptoren vermittelt und vermutlich die Faltung der Proteine beeinflusst. Endoproteasen, wie zum Beispiel die Matrix-Metalloproteasen, können dennoch spalten, unabhängig von einer N-terminalen Pyroglutamatbildung. Durch diese Spaltung werden aber häufig physiologische Antagonisten geschaffen, die auf natürliche Weise den Rezeptor blockieren und zum Abklingen der Reaktion beitragen.

Unser Ansatz liegt in der Entwicklung von Proteinwirkstoffen, die modifizierte Zielproteine - neben der N-terminalen Modifikation kommen hier auch andere Strukturelemente in Frage - neutralisieren. Im Zuge geplanter Kooperationen mit Industriepartnern sollen weitere therapeutische Proteine mit Antikörper-ähnlichen Eigenschaften entwickelt werden.

Post-translationale Proteinmodifikationen als Ansatzpunkte zur Therapie neurodegenerativer Erkrankungen

Neurodegenerative Erkrankungen sind durch einen fortschreitenden Verlust von Hirnsubstanz gekennzeichnet. Der Untergang der Nervenzellen geht mit der Entwicklung einer Demenz, d.h. der qualitativen und quantitativen Abnahme der Hirnleistung einher. Das Altern stellt einen Hauptrisikofaktor dar, an einer Demenz zu erkranken. Aufgrund der stetig steigenden Lebenserwartung stellen demenzielle Syndrome, allen voran die Alzheimer-Krankheit (AD), in den kommenden Jahrzehnten eine Herausforderung für das Gesundheitssystem dar. In Deutschland sind derzeit ca. 1,4 Mio Menschen betroffen, weltweit wird die Zahl auf ca. 44 Mio geschätzt. Bis 2050 wird sich diese Zahl vermutlich verdreifachen. Obgleich einige Medikamente zugänglich sind, um die Symptome der Erkrankungen abzuschwächen, ist derzeit keine kurative Therapie verfügbar.

Die überwiegende Mehrzahl der neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen ist auf die Fehlfaltung, d.h. eine Änderung der Struktur, von Eiweißen (Proteine) zurückzuführen. Die Strukturänderung bewirkt eine Ablagerung, was das umliegende Gewebe bzw. die Zellen schädigt und zum Absterben führt. Therapeutisches Ziel ist deshalb, die Ablagerung der Peptide zu verhindern bzw. den Abbau der entsprechenden Proteine zu beschleunigen.

Neuere Forschungsergebnisse weisen darauf hin, dass zahlreiche dieser Proteine Veränderungen (posttranslationale Modifikationen) unterliegen, welche häufig deren Ablagerung beschleunigen. Zu diesen Modifikationen zählen die Bildung von Pyroglutamat, Isoaspartat oder die Nitrierung und Phosphorylierung.

Ziel des Projektes ist die Identifizierung posttranslationaler Veränderungen in abgelagerten Proteinen, welche charakteristisch für die jeweilige neurodegenerative Erkrankung sind. Die Bildung der Modifikation soll dabei untersucht und Strategien zu deren Unterdrückung abgeleitet werden. Die neuartigen Wirkstoffe könnten die Veränderung der Proteine unterbinden (Enzym-Effektoren) oder die modifizierten Proteine binden und dem Abbau zuführen (Proteinwirkstoffe).

  • Herstellung (Klonierung) von Expressionsvektoren
  • Heterologe Expression von Proteinen in E. coli, Hefe, Insekten- und Säugerzellen
  • Säulenchromatographische Reinigung von Proteinen im analytischen und semi-präparativen Maßstab
  • Spektroskopische Analyse von Enzymstruktur- und Funktion in vitro (UV-Vis-, CD- und Chemolumineszens-und Fluoreszenzspektroskopie), Entwicklung von Enzymassays
  • Strukturbasierte Optimierung von Antikörpern (protein engineering)

  • Hartlage-Rübsamen M, Waniek A, Meissner J, Morawski M, Schilling S, Jäger C, Kleinschmidt M, Cynis H, Kehlen A, Arendt T, Demuth HU, Rossner S. Isoglutaminyl cyclase contributes to CCL2-driven neuroinflammation in Alzheimer’s disease. Acta Neuropathologica 2015; 129(4): 565-583. DOI dx.doi.org/10.1007/s00401-015-1395-2
  • Morawski M, Schilling S, Kreuzberger M, Waniek A, Jäger C, Koch B, Cynis H, Kehlen A, Arendt T, Hartlage-Rübsamen M, Demuth HU, Roßner S. Glutaminyl cyclase in human cortex: correlation with (pGlu)-amyloid-beta load and cognitive decline in Alzheimer‘s disease. Journal of Alzheimer‘s Disease. 2014;39(2):385-400. DOI dx.doi.org/10.3233/JAD-131535.
  • Güttler BH, Cynis H, Seifert F, Ludwig HH, Porzel A, Schilling S. A quantitative analysis of spontaneous isoaspartate formation from N-terminal asparaginyl and aspartyl residues. 2013 Apr;44(4):1205-14. DOI dx.doi.org/10.1007/s00726-012-1454-0. Epub 2013 Jan 24.
  • Nussbaum JM*, Schilling S*, Cynis H, Silva A, Swanson E, Wangsanut T, Tayler K, Wiltgen B, Hatami A, Rönicke R, Reymann K, Hutter-Paier B, Alexandru A, Jagla W, Graubner S, Glabe CG, Demuth HU, Bloom GS. Prion-like behaviour and tau-dependent cytotoxicity of pyroglutamylated amyloid-?. Nature. 2012 May 2;485(7400):651-5. DOI dx.doi.org/10.1038/nature11060
  • Schilling S, Kohlmann S, Bäuscher C, Sedlmeier R, Koch B, Eichentopf R, Becker A, Cynis H, Hoffmann T, Berg S, Freyse EJ, von Hörsten S, Rossner S, Graubner S, Demuth HU. Glutaminyl cyclase (QC) knock out mice show mild hypothyreodism but absence of hypogonadism: implications for enzyme function and drug development. J Biol Chem. 2011 Apr 22;286(16):14199-208. DOI dx.doi.org/10.1074/jbc.M111.229385
  • Seifert F, Schulz K, Koch B, Manhart S, Demuth HU, Schilling S. Glutaminyl cyclases display significant catalytic proficiency for glutamyl substrates. Biochemistry. 2009 Dec 22;48(50):11831-3. DOI dx.doi.org10.1021/bi9018835
  • Schilling S, Zeitschel U, Hoffmann T, Heiser U, Francke M, Kehlen A, Holzer M, Hutter-Paier B, Prokesch M, Windisch M, Jagla W, Schlenzig D, Lindner C, Rudolph T, Reuter G, Cynis H, Montag D, Demuth HU, Rossner S. Glutaminyl cyclase inhibition attenuates pyroglutamate Abeta and Alzheimer's disease-like pathology. Nat Med. 2008 Oct;14(10):1106-11. DOI dx.doi.org/10.1038/nm.1872