Cell characterization and classification

Diagnosis and mapping for cell biological studies

MFC200-CR

By means of a special measuring head, light is irradiated with a wavelength of 1325 nm in the sample to be examined (non-contact procedure, no coupling medium necessary). The backscattered light contains depth information on the sample and is processed interferometrically (A scan). Stringing together a given number of A scans creates a cross section image, which is referred to as the B image in analogy to the ultrasound. By also displacing the measuring head or test specimen, a series of B sectional images can be recorded. This gives an image stack (tomogram), which provides high-resolution, geometric information from inside the test object.

Relevant parameters

  • Measurement range: 10 x 10 x 7 mm³
  • Measurement speed: 76 kHz
  • Axial resolution (in air): 12 µm
  • Lateral resolution: 13 µm

Equipment site

Fraunhofer IZI, main building, 2nd floor, B2.03 laboratory

Person responsible for equipment / contact person

Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Christian Wolf
Fraunhofer IKTS
Department of Bio- and Nanotechnology
Optical Coherence Tomography Unit

Phone +49 351 88815-618
Send an e-mail

Spectrometer for time-resolved fluorescence spectroscopy (OCD-Plus)

This procedure involves electromagnetic radiation being focused on the investigated cell tissue. After deactivating the radiation source, the decay behavior of the inherent fluorescence intensity is analyzed. As various tissues differ in their decay behavior with regard to fluorescence, cells can be classified on the basis of these parameters. The measurement procedure can also be applied to single cell measurements, thereby expanding the available measurement parameters for the characterization of cells. It has already been successfully demonstrated that carcinoma cells can be differentiated from healthy cells using this method.

Work is planned to be carried out in the following areas: a) classification at cell level (tissue sections / single cells), b) Speckle measurements, c) measurements in cavities of the human body, d) multi-level cell or tumor classification. Future fields of application include: i) quality control of cell therapeutics, ii) examination of cell population homogeneity, iii) detection of tumor cells in body fluids independent from immunological markers.

Relevant parameters

  • Laser: Pulsed excitation laser with reaction time in picosecond range
  • Laser pulse frequency: continuous wave (cw), 50 MHz
  • Laser pulse width: < 90 ps
  • Laser intensity: < 5 mW (cw), < 0.5 mW (pulsed)
  • Detection mode: ultra-fast time-correlated single photon counting (TCSPC) with adapted time resolution (max. 50 ns)
    • Wavelength range: 300–820 nm
    • IRF width: 180 ps, DCC camera (PMC 100, Becker & Hickl)
  • Specimen holder for cell-culture vessel: plate with wells
    • Measurements in two directions, detection of entire area possible
    • Controller with adjustable measurement starting point, adjustable length of individual steps and number of steps

Equipment site

Fraunhofer IZI, main building, 2nd floor, B2 laboratory

Person responsible for equipment / contact person

Dr.-Ing. Lotta Römhildt
Fraunhofer IKTS
Department of Bio- and Nanotechnology
Bio- and Nanosensors Unit

Phone +49 351 88815-662
Send an e-mail

Ultrasound wideband spectroscopy system

Ultrasound spectroscopy has long since been used for the medical diagnosis of cellular tissue and biological materials as well as for analyzing fluid media. Backscattered signals, which differ depending on their tissue properties, are evaluated using the pulse-echo method. Sound attenuation linked to absorption and scattering is analyzed in fluid media in transmission.

Ultrasound spectroscopy is predominantly used to determine acoustic and mechanical material properties. To this end, sound waves are transmitted into the medium to be characterized in different frequency ranges or in a frequency spectrum. The attenuation of the sound signals in the specimen is measured. This enables the sound attenuation in the specimen to be described as a function of sound frequency.

Relevant parameters

This device enables the direct measurement of a fluid medium, which is poured into a test tube, in the water bath. Ultra-low volumes of fluid can alternatively be applied to a slide and measured. The slide is placed between two ultrasonic probes, thus facilitating the transmission measurement or, if only one test probe is used, the impulse-echo measurement.

  • Operating frequency: 4 MHz and/or 7 MHz (band width 85 to 105 %)
  • Resonator size: 5 mm to 10 mm diameter
  • Size of object: test tube and/or slide

Person responsible for equipment / contact person

Jun.-Prof. Henning Heuer
Fraunhofer IKTS
Department of Systems for Testing and Analysis

Phone +49 351 88815-630
Send an e-mail

PD Dr.-Ing. habil. Thomas Herzog
Fraunhofer IKTS
Department of Systems for Testing and Analysis

Phone +49 351 88815-626
Send an e-mail

High-throughput flow cytometer

iQue Screener platform
© Photo Fraunhofer IZI

iQue Screener platform, IntelliCyt Corp.

The iQue Screener platform is an integrated instrument, software and reagent system that enables a rapid, high content, multiplexed analysis of cells and beads in suspension, including 3D characterization of complex biological structures and precise measurement of cell surface properties. iQue Screeners have a patented sample introduction method that minimizes sample requirements while maximizing the speed of delivery to the flow cytometry detection engine, making it possible to deliver content-rich results in just minutes. As only minimal effort is required to prepare the samples, it is possible to follow cellular reactions almost right from the start when they are often most critical (e.g. after the application of therapeutics).

Relevant parameters

  • 2 lasers (488 nm and 640 nm)
  • 4 fluorescent channels
  • Minimal sample size 0.5 µm
  • Screening of suspension cells, beads, microbes and mixtures
  • Microplate rail with orbital shaker
  • Sample formats: 96 and 384 well plates, Eppendorf tubes
  • Sensitivity: 7 decade dynamic range
  • Exchangeable detection filters
  • Detection of up to 10,000 cells/second

Equipment site

Fraunhofer IZI, main building, 2nd floor, B2 laboratory

Person responsible for equipment / contact person

Christin Möser
Fraunhofer IZI
Department of Diagnostics
Nanotechnology Unit

Phone +49 341 35536-9311
Send an e-mail

Holger Lausch

Contact Press / Media

Dr. Holger Lausch

Site manager Fraunhofer IKTS

Fraunhofer Institute for Cell Therapy and Immunology IZI
Perlickstraße 1
04103 Leipzig, Germany

Phone +49 341 35536-3401

Zellcharakterisierung und -klassifizierung

Diagnose und Mapping für zellbiologische Untersuchungen

MFC200-CR

Mittels eines speziellen Messkopfs wird Licht mit einer von Wellenlänge 1325 nm in die zu untersuchende Probe eingestrahlt (berührungsfreies Verfahren, kein Koppelmedium notwendig). Das anschließend rückgestreute Licht enthält Tiefeninformationen der Probe und wird interferometrisch verarbeitet (A-Scan). Durch die Aneinanderreihung von A-Scans entsteht eine Querschnittsbild, das in Analogie zum Ultraschall als B-Bild bezeichnet wird. Durch zusätzliche Verschiebung von Messkopf oder Prüfkörper kann eine Serie von B-Schnittbildern aufgenommen werden. Man erhält dadurch einen Bilderstapel (Tomogramm, der hoch aufgelöste geometrische Informationen aus dem Inneren des Prüfobjekts liefert.

Relevante Parameter

  • Messbereich: 10 x 10 x 7 mm3
  • Messgeschwindigkeit: 76 kHz
  • Axiale Auflösung (in Luft): 12 µm
  • Laterale Auflösung: 13 µm

Gerätestandort

Fraunhofer IZI, Hauptgebäude, 2. OG, Labor B2.03

Geräteverantwortlicher / Ansprechpartner

Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Christian Wolf
Fraunhofer IKTS
Abteilung Bio- und Nanotechnologie
Arbeitsgruppe Optische Kohärenztomographie

Telefon +49 351 88815-618
E-Mail senden

Spektrometer für zeitaufgelöste Fluorenszenzspektroskopie (OCD-Plus)

In dem Verfahren wird elektromagnetische Strahlung auf das zu untersuchende Zellgewebe fokussiert. Nach Abschalten der Strahlungsquelle wird das Abklingverhalten der inhärenten Fluoreszenzintensität analysiert. Da sich verschiedene Gewebe im Abklingverhalten der Fluoreszenz unterscheiden, ist eine Klassifizierung von Zellen aufgrund dieser Parameter möglich. Das Messverfahren kann auch auf Einzelzellmessungen übertragen werden und damit die verfügbaren Messparameter zur Charakterisierung von Zellen erweitern. Es konnte bereits erfolgreich gezeigt werden, dass sich mit dieser Methode Karzinomzellen von gesunden Zellen unterscheiden lassen.

Die Bearbeitung folgender Fragestellungen ist geplant: a) Klassifizierung auf der Zellebene (Gewebeschnitte / Einzelzellen); b) Speckle-Messungen; c) Untersuchung in körpereigenen Hohlräumen; d) mehrstufige Zell- oder Tumorklassifizierung. Künftige Anwendungsgebiete sind beispielsweise: i) Qualitätskontrolle von Zelltherapeutika; ii) Überprüfung der Homogenität von Zellpopulationen; iii) Nachweis von Tumorzellen in Körperflüssigkeiten unabhängig von immunologischen Markern.

Relevante Parameter

  • Laser: Gepulster Anregungslaser mit einer Reaktionszeit im ps-Bereich
  • Laserpulsfrequenz: Continous wave (cw), 50 MHz
  • Laserpulsweite: < 90 ps
  • Laserintensität: < 5 mW (cw), < 0.5 mW (gepulst)
  • Detektionsmode: ultra-schnelle zeitkorrelierte Einzelphotonen-Zählung (TCSPC) mit adaptierter Zeitauflösung (max. 50 ns)
    • Wellenlängenbereich: 300–820 nm
    • IRF-Weite: 180 ps, DCC-Kamera (PMC 100, Becker & Hickl)
  • Probenhalter für Zellkulturgefäß: Wellplatte (Löcher)
    • Messungen in zwei Richtungen, Detektion des Gesamtbereichs ist möglich
    • Kontroller mit einstellbarem Messungsstart, einstellbarer Länge der einzelnen Schritte und Schrittanzahl

Gerätestandort

Fraunhofer IZI, Hauptgebäude, 2. Etage, Labor B2

Geräteverantwortlicher / Ansprechpartner

Dr.-Ing. Lotta Römhildt
Fraunhofer IKTS
Abteilung Bio- und Nanotechnologie
Arbeitsgruppe Bionanosensorik

Telefon +49 351 88815-662
E-Mail senden

Ultraschall-Breitband-Spektroskopiesystem

Die Ultraschallspektroskopie wird seit langem in der medizinischen Diagnostik von Zellgeweben und biologischen Materialien und in der Analytik fluider Medien eingesetzt. Mit der Puls-Echo-Technik werden rückgestreute Signale untersucht, die sich je nach Gewebeeigenschaften unterscheiden. Bei fluiden Medien in Transmission wird die Schallschwächung analysiert, die von Absorption und Streuung abhängt.

Mit der Ultraschallspektroskopie werden hauptsächlich akustische und mechanische Stoffeigenschaften ermittelt. Dazu werden Schallsignale in verschiedenen Frequenzbereichen bzw. einem Frequenzspektrum in das zu charakterisierende Medium eingeschallt. Erfasst wird die Schwächung, die die Schallsignale in der Probe erfahren. Damit ist es möglich, die Schalldämpfung in der Probe in Abhängigkeit der Schallfrequenz zu beschreiben.

Relevante Parameter

Das Gerät erlaubt die direkte Messung eines fluiden Mediums, das in ein Reagenzglas eingefüllt ist, im Wasserbad. Alternativ können auch kleinste fluide Mengen auf einem Objektträger appliziert und vermessen werden. Dieser wird zwischen zwei Ultraschallprüfköpfen platziert und ermöglicht so die Transmissionsmessung bzw. bei Verwendung nur eines Prüfkopfs die Impuls-Echo-Messung.

  • Arbeitsfrequenz: 4 MHz bzw. 7 MHz (Bandbreite 85–105 %)
  • Schwingergröße: Durchmesser 5 mm – 10 mm
  • Objektgröße: Reagenzglas bzw. Objektträger

Geräteverantwortlicher / Ansprechpartner

Jun.-Prof. Henning Heuer
Fraunhofer IKTS
Abteilung Prüf- und Analysesysteme

Telefon +49 351 88815-630
E-Mail senden

PD Dr.-Ing. habil. Thomas Herzog
Fraunhofer IKTS
Abteilung Prüf- und Analysesysteme

Telefon +49 351 88815-626
E-Mail senden

Hochdurchsatz-Durchflusszytometer

iQue Screener platform, IntelliCyt Corp.
© Foto Fraunhofer IZI

iQue Screener platform, IntelliCyt Corp.

Die iQue Screener Plattform beinhaltet Instrument, Software und Reagenzsystem und ermöglicht eine schnelle, multiplexe Hochdurchsatzanalyse von Zellen und beads in Suspension. Damit kann eine 3D-Charakterisierung von komplexen biologischen Strukturen und die präzise Messung der Beschaffenheit von Zelloberflächen realisiert werden. iQue Screener besitzen eine patentierte Methode zur Probeneinleitung, welche die Probenanforderungen minimieren und die Geschwindigkeit der Probenzufuhr in das Flusszytometer-Detektionssystem erhöhen. So können innerhalb weniger Minuten umfassende Ergebnisse erzeugt werden. Durch die einfache Probenvorbereitung können Zellreaktionen nahezu von Anfang an, also meist wenn sie besonders bedeutend sind (z.B. nach Zugabe von Therapeutika), verfolgt werden.

Relevante Parameter

  • 2 Laser (488 nm und 640 nm)
  • 4 Fluoreszenzkanäle
  • Mindestgröße der Probe: 0,5 µm
  • Screening von Zellsuspensionen, beads, Mikroben und Gemischen
  • Schiene für Mikroplatten mit kreisendem Schüttler
  • Probenformate: 96- oder 384-well Platten, Eppendorf-Gefäße
  • Sensitivität: 7 Dekaden Dynamikumfang
  • Austauschbare Filter zur Detektion
  • Detektion von bis zu 10.000 Zellen/Sekunde

Gerätestandort

Fraunhofer IZI, Hauptgebäude, 2. Etage, Labor B2

Geräteverantwortlicher / Ansprechpartner

Christin Möser
Fraunhofer IZI
Abteilung Diagnostik
Arbeitsgruppe Nanotechnologie

Telefon +49 341 35536-9311
E-Mail senden

Holger Lausch

Contact Press / Media

Dr. Holger Lausch

Standortverantwortlicher Fraunhofer IKTS

Fraunhofer-Institut für Zelltherapie und Immunologie
Perlickstraße 1
04103 Leipzig

Telefon +49 341 35536-3401